2006-11-10 - 9:32 a.m.

You will be redirected to the new home of NoGoodDaddy in

5 seconds
Later, Dudes. Enjoy the jump.
How many things can I type here that you can read before the page changes? I wonder.
Are you still reading?
Cheese�cheese�cheese�I love cheese

Poopies


Old Entries
(If you care)

There's a lot of stuff we could talk about today.

Like: My trip through the Suckadelphia Airport, my week at work, why Shmuppie makes me have high blood pressure, what I want for Christmas, the smell of my poop.

But, no. At a little after 11:00 last night, the topic of this entry changed.

Wanna Know why?


R

U


R

U


R

U


R

U


That's right, baby.

Cheer along with me:

RU Rah Rah
RU Rah Rah
Hoo Rah
Hoo Rah
Rutgers Rah
Upstream
Red Team
Red Team
Upstream
Rah
Rah
Rutgers Rah!

Rutgers

Beats

Louisville

28-25

Holy Shit

I can not properly convey what the win last night means. The win for Rutgers will likely go down in the annals of NJ sports as one of the greatest moments ever. Now, I wholly understand that we are talking about NJ sports here, but you have to understand just how huge this was.

Rutgers has an illustrious history of sucking. Their football team has always sucked. They won the first college football game ever against Princeton and promptly sucked every week since then.

Until this season.

Holy shit.

I got home just as they went down 15-7. We watched a little bit, but Louisville promptly scored again. So, I turned the game off. Naturally, I was the jinx. We watched a taped episode of Studio 60. I peeked back in and they were losing again. We watched the Office. Finally, I put the game back on and they were about to start the drive for the winning field goal. When they missed the first crack at it, people all over NJ and the world all thought the same thing "Same old Rutgers". Then, Louisville played along and jumped offsides.

Kick is up. And it's goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood!!!!!!!!!!

I was no the phone with my father. We're making plans to go see them play in a bowl game somewhere. If they manage not to fuck up too bad and only lose to WVa, we're looking at spending New Year's in Jacksonville at the Gator Bowl. Should they manage to somehow finish undefeated, it's BCS time for Rutgers Nation. I can think of crappy places to spend New Year's, but a choice among Miami, Phoenix, Pasadena or New Orleans does not qualify for that list. If they manage to play in a BCS game, I may have a heart attack. Then again, I think that would be a sign of the apocalypse. So, should Rutgers beat WVa on December 2, please be prepared for the world as we know it to end. I don't know if existence will simply blink out or if the world will cleave in 2, but, mark my words, it's over for us all.

And I could not be happier.

Let's put it in perspective. Right now, Rutgers sits at 9-0. In 1992, my freshman year, they went 7-4. In the next 3 years, they won a total of 13 more games. So, that's 20 wins in 4 seasons. That's not good. They will get over half that many this season alone. Heck, if you graduated in 2003, you saw 7 wins in 4 years. That's really bad.

I mean, Rutgers football has always been epically bad. Like Cubs bad. But worse. But, now they're coming to life. Many people, myself included, always said that they just needed to keep the kids from NJ on the team. If they could do that, they could win and fill the stadium.

Speaking of which...bleachers in the open end zone! Shit! I was there when they closed the old stadium. I jumped on the wooden bleachers and brought a big plank back to my dorm room. They beat WVa 13-9 on November 14, 1992. I was there when the new stadium opened and nobody cared. The first time Miami came to town, we sat there in an empty stadium in the pouring rain. We once sat there and had "Whose ice cube will melt first" races. Now, the place is a sea of red and they put seats in the open end zone.

I'm not making any sense because it is impossible for me to do so. I can't explain whet this feels like. I'm babbling and I'm OK with that.

Rutgers beat Louisville last night. I'm spending New Year's in a warm climate...at a bowl game.

For now, life is good.

That's Why

x