2006-06-18 - 8:45 p.m.

You will be redirected to the new home of NoGoodDaddy in

5 seconds
Later, Dudes. Enjoy the jump.
How many things can I type here that you can read before the page changes? I wonder.
Are you still reading?
Cheese�cheese�cheese�I love cheese

Poopies


Old Entries
(If you care)

Anyone think I can throw together a few coherent thoughts, considering that I'm still away and was at the plant 14 hours yesterday and like 4 today? I didn't think so either.

Happy Father's Day to me indeed. I got to spend it working and at the movies. It's not the missing of Father's Day that bums me out; it's the being away all weekend thing. Not to mention the exhaustion thing. But, here I am. I get to fly home tomorrow night and it can't come soon enough.

Anyway, I was thinking about Father's Day from 2005. Again...not very restful. Of course, a year ago, our moving van was arriving in NC a day early. The couches didn't fit. The A/C was busted and it was hotter than hell. Not to mention the whole "packing up and leaving everything and everyone we knew" thing. I remember doing a lot of apologizing to JewelrySlut as the day progressed. What had we gotten ourselves into?

Well, a year later, it turns out we were on to something. (And I'm not talking about looking for a job here or anything) When I interview, I have to explain the whole "How'd you land in Raleigh" part of my life. And, I always get to the part where I have to explain how utterly out of character this move was for us. That we (and especially me) were never ones to do anything spur of the moment. My surprises were scheduled. But, there we were, packing up and moving.

It got me to thinking about the past year. It's been crazy. From the move, to the first trip back to NJ for work, to the flooding, through the holidays and to the insanity of 2006. I can't believe it's been a full year. Unfortunately, I've spent 2-3 months of this past year in a hotel, but that just adds to the experience.

For me and JewelrySlut, what used to be out of character, may no longer be so. The move has really changed how we look at life. It's been eye opening and just absolutely wonderful. I don't have the right words to explain how I feel about it, but life is just good. No fights, no worries, no traffic, nothing but enjoyment. Now, I know the true fairy tale aspect of this may soon end, but it's been a good ride. But, things have a way of working out for the best and I have a few things going on that could be very cool.

But, in spite of all the silliness, I am certain of one thing .

(Put on the sappiness gloves, folks)

There ain't nobody on Earth that I'd rather be on this journey with more than JewelrySlut. What I put her through on a daily basis qualifies her for sainthood. She stands by my mood swings, my crabbiness, my general adolescent behavior. But, she's always there for me. JewelrySlut is my rock. I feel terrible about being away all the time, but I always know that she understands. Or, at least if she doesn't, she never gives me shit about it. My co-project manager here is constantly getting shit from his wife about being away. Thing is: his job is on the road. Mine isn't supposed to be, but I know that JewelrySlut "understands" and will support whatever I need to do. I don't know...what am I saying? Not a whole lot. But, I love my wife and I'm not thrilled about being away from home and I can't wait to be home in 26 hours. The past year's been fun and I'm happy I got to spend it with my girls. I done gone and made me a few good choices in life.

x