2006-01-02 - 12:04 p.m.

You will be redirected to the new home of NoGoodDaddy in

5 seconds
Later, Dudes. Enjoy the jump.
How many things can I type here that you can read before the page changes? I wonder.
Are you still reading?
Cheese�cheese�cheese�I love cheese

Poopies


Old Entries
(If you care)

**apologies to the title: I took a little liberty there. Sorry Jimmy.**

Since the 2nd half of 2005 was all about not taxing myself too much, let's outline some goals for 2006.

I have 2 and should be able to achieve them both without too much pain.

1: Lock down employment beyond March 31. Do this as soon as possible to eliminate any need for stress in the coming months. I have a few solid leads right now and want to start working on them soon after we all return to work. I just wonder if I want to continue on with HealthCareRelatedCompany or venture out into the world. I'll have 3 years with them as of May and lots of vacation time coming my way. But, I don't have much to do and the work I do now is utterly unchallenging. But, I think I can hook up with a certain person who I worked with this summer and be more than challenged. We get along well and she's eager to try to land me. I'd have a lot to do and would likely enjoy it. I may have to go back and forth to NJ on a somewhat regular basis, but I don't care. I bitch about the travel, but it's not too bad. And, working for her should being a hefty raise. Hell, my next job should bring one.

2: Rehab the knee. Get it better so I don't have to think about it anymore. I want to go to St John in August and not worry about it. I don't want to wake up wit it feeling all sore. It was bad yesterday morning. It hurt like a bugger and I was not happy. It was like that all day until it popped again at dinner time and then it felt better. I think I need new legs or something. I have 3 weeks of PT left and then I'll continue on with the rehab at the Y. I do have to pace myself better. It starts feeling better and then I push too hard. As a result, the following day never feels good.
2A: Continue to exercise. I was on such a roll this fall. I enjoyed the swimming. I’ll get back to the pool, but need to make sure I mix in weights and something else. I don't think my joints can take only swimming. I need to keep my knees in better shape if I want to avoid surgery. It's that simple.

Beyond that, not too much. I could say that I want to be a better person, but that would be a lie. I guess I could try to get along better with my parents. But, there's a long way to go on that one and it's going to take more than 2006 to mend fences. Ugh: let's not talk about that anymore today. Mmkay?

2005 was a good year. From little things like starting this dopey diary to bigger things like moving to NC.

There were bad times, but they all seemed to be temporary things.

When JewelrySlut and Shmuppie got in the car accident, it was bad. However, it was almost like one final push to get us out of NJ.

The move itself sucked taint, but it did get us here.

My knee sucks, but maybe it was a warning sign that I need to take better care of myself.

What else? My parents are dodos but I no longer care all that much. I seem like I may, but lot of it is for dramatic effect to please all 2 of my readers.

More with the good:

I really like you ass pirates. I loved meeting some of my adoring fans and stealing their keys. (By the way: I'm too lazy for links today). I got stuff sent to me in the mail from utter strangers who I now consider to be my friends. Cyber Hugs for Everybody (puke)

We got to see Shmuppie really grow a lot in the last 6 months into the terror that she is. She may look cute, but evil lurks beneath.

We took our first family vacation to Red Neck Central. AND LOVED IT! (I'm already contemplating a mid-Feb trip back to a beach somewhere)

All in all, 2005 was awesome. I liked it.

I'll update briefly about NYE:

We went to Quasi and Dingaling's house. It was worse than expected. We were fed marginally edible food (Both were sick yesterday and NOT hangover sick: more of what did we eat? Sick). We brought some food, but it was not enough. The 2 of them are just awful. White Trash at its best. Get them drunk and the fun starts. At one point, they vanished to the garage and came back with bloody lips. Nice. Then, Dingaling started bawling: and I mean crying like a lunatic. JewelrySlut got to hear all about how she's tired of Quasi and misses her mother-in-law. Hey: we all miss her, but I think we need to accept it and move on (And: JewelrySlut agrees with me here. This is not just me being an asshole). I got to deal with Quasi who (with Crown Royal breath) got back into how much he hates me because of where I went to high school and how I used to bang his sister: in 1992! We got to rehash how much he still wants to punch me in the face. I told him to do it and get over with it because I was sick of hearing it. I think I also told him to grow the fuck up and to try acting like an adult for a little while. There were maybe a dozen times when I really wish I'd stopped after my 2nd drink so we could have driven home. What a mess. And, I'm not even starting on their house. It's filthy and sticky. Not good. We didn't get to sleep until after 2 and were up before 8. But, we endured it and never have to do it again. We spend yesterday alternating between the bed and the toilet.

But I made a kick ass dinner:

Want a recipe?

NoGoodDaddy's New Year's Pork
(sounds like a movie title)

Software:
2lb (or so) pork tenderloin cut into big chunks.
2 cups rice
4 cups water or stock
1 can black beans
Assorted seasonings
Some frozen corn
A bunch of chives

Heat your oven to 375
In an oven-proof pan, sear the pork. Make sure it's good and seasoned beforehand with yummy things. Really anything will work. I did some Creole-type stuff, salt and pepper. Remove it from the pan and throw in the rice and a little oil. Just toss it around a bit, scraping the bottom of the pan. Add the liquid and bring to a boil. Add the beans and the pork to the pan. Dampen an old dish towel and put it over the pan and then cover with a lid (You're introducing a steam-making device AND locking in any escaping moisture. Let it cook for like 22-25 minutes. When it's almost done, heat up the corn and drain it. I used about a cup or 2. Remove the pan and toss in the corn and chives. They brighten up the food: it's kinda poop-colored. Serve in bowls and enjoy the goodness. Plus, beans on New Year's are apparently good luck. It kicked major ass.

Not much else to say. Shmuppie has her first swimming lesson in a little while so we're all headed to the Y. Beyond that, I intend to sit and watch football today.

I'm thawing some grouper for dinner so I may have to post another inane recipe tomorrow. (Has anyone ever made any of my creations?)

Happy New Year, everybody. 2006 should be fun. I look forward to more clandestine meetings with you nerds. If I'm in your town, be sure that I'm looking you up!

And: one link here just because I can.

Up on my soapbox I go: oomph:

Meany’s coming home in a few days. Whether or not you support what's going on in Iraq, give our girl some props and pray to whatever it is that you pray to that she makes it home OK. I think you're next on the Internet Date list for me. I have a big hug and a kiss waiting for you here in NC. Come on home girl.

x