2005-08-25 - 11:29 a.m.

You will be redirected to the new home of NoGoodDaddy in

5 seconds
Later, Dudes. Enjoy the jump.
How many things can I type here that you can read before the page changes? I wonder.
Are you still reading?
Cheese�cheese�cheese�I love cheese

Poopies


Old Entries
(If you care)

Who wants to hear another reason why we love Raleigh?

The other day before the great flood, JewelrySlut sucked a muskrat or something into the vacuum. It got pissed off and started making evil noises and emitting noxious fumes. So, on Monday, I popped it open to look it over. Turns out the shredded the belt. So, I looked up the nearest Oreck dealer. It was on the way to and from the airport so we decided to swing in on the way home from dropping ChurchBomber off. Well, did we ever find something lovely�

The store was in this huge retail complex. There�s got to be every kind of store available in this place. JewelrySlut almost passed out. In a row were a TJ Max, a Pier 1, a Total Wine, a Pier 1 and a Barnes and Noble. She�s not a big shopper, but not even she�s powerless to that kind of retail pull. This place has been hiding there, 15 minutes from the house, since we moved in. We had nothing like that in NJ.

Then, last night, we had to take my car over to the Dodge dealer. I need to get it inspected (the final step in Carolina-izing it), get the oil changed and have them look over some flickering dashboard light. We found the place and also found yet another little slice of retail heaven. There was a huge Kroger there. We�ve been disappointed in the grocery stores here, even stooping so low as to shop at Wal-Mart for groceries. But, I think we just solved our problems. This store is hug and seems to be awesome. It was there the whole time�just waiting to be discovered.

I�m waiting to turn down a new street one day and just see people handing out gold bars and diamonds. I mean, why the fuck not?

So, we went back to the pool yesterday.

Someone didn�t get to watch any TV last night. She�s alive today because of some good timing. We�d been at the pool for a while and were ready to head home. We think that as soon as she got out of the pool, Shmuppie shat. She looked less lumpy as she got out of the water, but was decidedly lumpy in the ass-region about 11 seconds later. I was ready to kill her. She escaped with her life because she didn�t actually shit in the pool. She got off on a technicality.

I decided that if you�re a parent and don�t think at least once a day that you want to strangle your kids; you�re a big fat liar. You may love them to death and would face down a pack of angry boars to keep them safe, but, at least once a day, you want to kill them.

Let�s talk about work and why it gives me hives.

So, we all know about the project I�m on�phasing out the printing that we do in-house and farming it out to a vendor.

After my last trip last week, I got a call from one of the vendors asking for the specs on the equipment in our mail room. I told him that I was 99% sure that the mail room was not part of the project but I would check and get back to him. This was Thursday AM.

I emailed the big bosses and they told me that I was wrong and the mail room was in scope. This was late Thursday.

I emailed the vendor back and told him I was mistaken and would get him the information. I was pissed. I�d been told the opposite back in July and had tailored the vendor visits around this information. Now, we were 2 weeks from the end of the assessment and I needed to get the teams back to NJ to show them the mail operation.

At 10:00AM on Tuesday morning, I was in on the weekly project meeting. I mentioned the flip-flop on the ail room and why I thought that putting it in scope was a bad idea. There were too many other people and departments that would be negatively affected. They took it out of scope.

At 11:00 AM on Tuesday, I got an email from one of the Powers That Be that we should put it back in scope.

I emailed RedHeadedGreasyDump about all this and she promised to talk to MiniVP about this but that I should go ahead assuming that it was in the project.

Since I�m not an idiot, I did nothing about it because�

Yesterday afternoon, MiniVP got back to her that the mail room was out of scope.

So, in less that a week, we went from out to in to out to in to out.

And they wonder why I�m so pissed off all the time. This is the stupidest organization I�ve ever seen. I don�t know if I�m cut out for corporate America. I really like small companies much better.

Continuing on this roller coaster ride of an entry�

Wouldn�t say that I�m having trouble adjusting to having JewelrySlut home all day, but it is odd. At least once a day, I see something in the house that I don�t recognize or find myself having to ask where something is. Back in the old days, we did all the grocery shopping, laundry, cleaning and whatever else was needed together. Now, that�s �her job�. Laundry just happens around here. I never see it get done. Same thing for cleaning and grocery shopping. It�s very odd. I sometimes feel disconnected from what�s going on. I guess it�s because we had to share all the duties back in NJ because we had no time to do things any other way. Weekends were a blur of chores and cleaning. They�re still a blur but my friends Mr.�s Rum and Vodka have a lot more to do with that. Am I the only person on Earth who would complain about not having to clean toilets? I may be. It�s odd. But I like it.

We�re off to WarCryGirl�s house on Saturday. Capt Destructo is turning 4 and we�re invited to the shindig. Or, is it a hoe down? I don�t know. What I do know is that I intend to play up my Yankeeness to the hilt. I intend to bring my gnomes. I intend to take pictures. I intend to be delighted by the whole scene. Don�t worry, babe, I won�t necessarily be making fun of YOU, but more of everything about you. See the difference. It should be fun. Except for, as I�ve mentioned, the whole thing about JewelrySlut and WCG maybe getting along too well. I�m praying that JewelrySlut gets to see some signs for South of the Border. She was pissed not to see any on the tip here. She�s looking forward to seeing the signs this weekend.

2 � weeks until Myrtle Beach. I�m not sure I �deserve� a vacation, but I�m taking one anyway. And, the computer, beeper and cell phone are ALL staying home. I shall be incommunicado. That�s how I vacation. Nothing I do is so important that I can�t go away for 3 days. I hate people who work while on vacation. I think the people who are attached to their cell phones while on the beach are insecure. They figure that if they actually let someone in on what they actually do every day, it would be very evident that they�re wholly expendable. Just my 2 cents.

For some reason, I thought I had more to say. I�ll be damned if I can remember what the fuck it was.

x