2005-08-09 - 3:46 p.m.

You will be redirected to the new home of NoGoodDaddy in

5 seconds
Later, Dudes. Enjoy the jump.
How many things can I type here that you can read before the page changes? I wonder.
Are you still reading?
Cheese�cheese�cheese�I love cheese

Poopies


Old Entries
(If you care)

So, I�m somewhat vexed.

I was more vexed yesterday. At about 1:00, I got a robotic sounding call from Continental saying that my flight was cancelled and that I needed to call them back. I logged on and called them. I�d been moved to a 7:00AM flight for TODAY. I would be taking off when my meeting was starting. Apparently the weather and the general shittiness of Newark Airport were holding all air traffic hostage.

I tried to get moved to an American Airlines flight. I could do it but the cost would go up. Now, since I�m the Project Manager with the least power ever invented, I had to get approval for this. RedHeadedSkidmark and TiniVP decided they couldn�t afford the $$. I should try to do my meeting over the phone.

The meeting was a site visit.

Here�s how I imagined it:

�OK�vendor guy, Imagine you�re in a big room. There are 3 mainframe laser printers and 3 mail inserters. Got it? Now, throw in the inhabitants of your local zoo�s monkey house. Got it? Ok�now on your left is��

Right�

So, I seethed and stayed home. I was lucky. There was some sort of incident at EWR involving 3 planes all driving into each other. The flight I wasn�t allowed to take ended up arriving at 10:00PM or so instead of 6:00. I would have been a nightmare to deal with.

So, I�m home. That�s good.

I�m a little annoyed because I bought my wondrous steaks on Sunday. I could have gone today or even tomorrow AM to get them but I wasn�t supposed to be home. Alas�

So, HealthCareRelated Company decided that my visit wasn�t worth the money. I�ve been put in charge of a project that will eventually lead to having a vendor take over my little print and mail kingdom and move it to one of their facilities. This is one smallish part of a huge corporate-wide thing. But, it�s not worth the plane tickets? Then why, I ask, did they put the guy who lived 500 miles away in charge? Wanna know why? Because they�re all idiots and I�m the only one who knows anything about what it is that we do on a daily basis.

I attend these meetings on Tuesday mornings. I call in and say things like:

Me: We need Mainframe and Network Support more involved. I know they need to be involved but can�t say why. They need to attend these meetings so we don�t miss any major piece of this project and have service issues

Them: So, NoGoodDaddy, what do you propose we do?

Me: What I said�get them in on the meetings

Them: Hmmm�should we invite them to the meetings

Me: If you think it�s a good idea, sure.

Ugh�If you all knew the power this company had over your healthcare lives, you�d be terrified. I�d say that at least one in 5 of you are members. Be afraid. Be very afraid. I�m trying to get the stupid company to issue me the ID cards I was supposed to have gotten back before we moved. I think they�ll end up mailing me 5 separate packages, only 1 containing the cards. I�m having quite a lot of fun watching the other 4 get processed and mailed to me. When this is done, I plan to work up a cost for all the shit I got and report it to someone to show just how fucking dumb of a company we are.

Yes�I have leads out for my next job. After Dec 31, I may be a free agent. I�m hoping that the vendor who takes us over will hire me. I think if it�s Vendor #1, I�m in. I have to work on the other vendor.

Have I mentioned the odd weather here lately? Earlier, JewelrySlut came down to tell me it was pitch black outside. I figured she was just over embellishing. Nope. I came out of my cave and it was dark out. And pouring. It rained like the Great Flood was coming. We had to go out to rescue the recently re-potted plants. Then it stopped. And the sun came out. It�s like it never happened. This is one fucked up place. I love it though.

JewelrySlut and my mother talked yesterday. Fortunately, it was not Round 2 of the other night. It seemed more to be Step 1 on the road to normality. The other side of the story is coming out and things are getting juicy. Again�I love living in Raleigh.

So, tomorrow�s my birthday.

I saw my gift. It�s all wrapped in a nice little box. I know what it is, just not exactly what it is. I�ve been looking for a nice watch for a little while. I wanted a nice chronograph/diver�s watch. Apparently JewelrySlut found a sweet one on EBay. The other gift is also in a little box, but there�s no wrapping paper around it. Actually, it�s not in a box�it is THE box.

What am I? 12?


x