2005-05-16 - 2:26 p.m.

You will be redirected to the new home of NoGoodDaddy in

5 seconds
Later, Dudes. Enjoy the jump.
How many things can I type here that you can read before the page changes? I wonder.
Are you still reading?
Cheese�cheese�cheese�I love cheese

Poopies


Old Entries
(If you care)

I�m tired and more than a little annoyed.

But, to start, thank you all very much for your kind words and support after our little incident last week.

Friday was amusing:
We went to see the car (as detailed)
We went to get Shmuppie a new car seat.

**Rant alert**

I�m Big�meaning HUGE on car seat safety.

I have one very cute reason to be so. My girls have had 2 accidents together, both getting rear-ended. Saturns, like Fords, know how to take it from behind like a champ. Anyhoo�car seats are �one use� items. You have an accident, you MUST go replace it. I don�t care what it costs you, the seat�s no longer deemed safe. When I called my pal at AAA again on Friday, she was nearly in tears again. Shmuppie was a month premature so we were mostly unprepared for her to be born when she was (We kinda saw the whole birth thing coming�with the fat wife and all, but just not on THAT day). So, as we left for the hospital, I chucked the infant carrier in my trunk and hoped for the best. The day after she�s born, I happened to drive past a local AAA office while I was running to a 1-hour photo place. I dropped in and they happened to have a person who was a certified installer-person. This little woman strapped the seat base in and gave me all the instructions. Well, after accident #1 in October of 2002, I wrote to her to thank her for my daughter�s life. One thing leads to another and next thing we know, AAA HQ has heard about our story and has us coming in for pictures to go in one of their magazines. Carol said that she�d been very nervous about the certification; she saw it as a responsibility that she wasn�t sure she wanted on her conscience. After the accident, she felt better about it, knowing she�s really done the right thing. So, when we spoke the other day, we were both choking up and she said the same thing. She�s still sometimes nervous about it, but knows it�s for a greater good.

So, if you haven�t already, go to an AAA office or your local police station. They�ll have someone there who can check your seat. The cargo�s too precious not to take the time.

I�ll get off my soap box now.

Ok�then we went to Enterprise to get a car. I�d made a reservation to get a regular car. We got there and they had a Nissan Murano. A giant SUV beast. I dubbed it Truckasaurus. The thing�s a pig to drive. JewelrySlut hates it and can�t wait to get a real car again. SUV�s and trucks are evil. Unless you need one, you don�t need one. We also found another Ford Focus, a 2004 with 15000 miles. We have a hold on it pending the results from GEICO which I expect later today. We�ll get whatever JewelrySlut wants, but being the type of person that she is, she just wants another wagon. She always wanted a station wagon, so she wants another. I wonder if there�s some sort of way, whether or not through a lawyer, to get the balance of the money for the new car. It�s probably going to come in at $3000-$4500 that we have to shell out. The money�s not an issue, it�s the principle. She didn�t do anything wrong. She shouldn�t have to pay for a new car.

Saturday was better. It was a very nice day. I got a bunch of chores done, cleaned out some crap in the attic, and we all played outside with Shmuppie. It was nice to be able to just chill and continue the decompression process. We weren�t in Raleigh, but that�s OK. We�re headed out this coming weekend.

Yesterday was an adventure. I woke up somewhat hung-over. It was also damp and humid and awful outside. It was cloudy and dark and the house was stiflingly hot.

There are a few things that really get me started on the road to irrationality.
Messes
Clutter
Awful weather.

Well, we had #3 locked up. We were bringing more stuff from the attic so the house was in a state of mess (#2). Plus, the house was a mess. Shmuppie had recently managed to get crumbs everywhere. So, everywhere you walked, you were stepping in sharp little crumbs�on a humidly stick floor. I was going insane. Finally, having heard more than enough, JewelrySlut put the A/C on. She couldn�t bear listening to me. The A/C kicked in and swept all the evil humidity away. By the time it was done doing its thing, the skies cleared and the nice weather returned. I did some cleaning, cut the grass, made some dinner-related items and then we hung out in the yard and played in the tunnels. It was a nice day.

So, this morning, I get here. There�s the usual clutter that comes after an unexpected day off. Then, some guy who I�ve never spoken to walks up to me and says �So, NoGoodDaddy, looks like I�ll be taking over your job�

WhaFa?

He starts in with trying to understand what I do and all. I just looked at him and told him to go away because this was the first I was hearing about it and really wasn�t in the mood. I immediately emailed my newest manager and RedHeadedUnfortunateDecisionNotToBeAborted, telling them what had happened and that I really would have appreciated hearing about my pending termination from them and not from him. Well, manager calls me in and tells me (with fire in her eyes) that she didn�t even know about it and that RedHeadedVaginalDischarge had gone around her. I fully believe my manager on this one. She wouldn�t bullshit me on this. So, she�s pissed, I�m pissed, we�re both pissed.

It�s several hours later and I�m still riled up about it. RedHeadedShitStain is AWOL today and not answering pages. She should be afraid�she should be very afraid. I was thisclose to just packing up and leaving. I still may do it, especially if they jerk me around on the remote working thing. I�m not in the mood, folks.

So that�s about it. I promise to try to be funny in a day or so. It�s not been a fun few days.

I really do appreciate all the nice comments from the last post. I know I wrote it to sound worse than it was. Eh�maybe I didn�t. The car�s totally fucked. That�s not even on my radar anymore, especially since they�re both OK. That�s all that matters. I couldn�t care less about the car. We�re just very happy to all be safe and in 3 pieces (we can�t all be in 1 piece�that would look like Kuato or something).

Later�

x