2006-03-10 - 10:02 a.m.

You will be redirected to the new home of NoGoodDaddy in

5 seconds
Later, Dudes. Enjoy the jump.
How many things can I type here that you can read before the page changes? I wonder.
Are you still reading?
Cheese�cheese�cheese�I love cheese

Poopies


Old Entries
(If you care)

2nd interview with Company I yesterday. IT went very well, but I don't think I'll get the job. After the first, they seemed a little disorganized. Yesterday, I met a Regional VP and he really explained what they want out of the position. It's more than a production manager who runs from fire to fire. They want someone, in his words, to be at "10,000 feet" and watch the operation and make improvements to the process. I think I could do it well. But, they brought in 10 people for 2nd looks. They'll whittle that to 2 and go from there (likely with a trip to Atlanta to see their main offices).

The guy conducted a very thorough interview and I think I did well. At the end, he told me that if this didn't work out, that someone with my skills and poise should be able to find a great job in the Raleigh area. (That was my hint that I may not make the cut).

Looks like Company A dried up. I'll contact the recruiter again to see if she's got anything else in the works.

You never know.

Also, the General Manager of RedVendor's site in PA emailed me yesterday to tell me that when I was up there next week (by the way...I'm at home next week) that we should get dinner and discuss life after HealthCareRelatedCompany. Could be something, but I get the feeling it would be an "on the road" job. I'd take something in the interim if the alternative was unemployment, but I don't need to be away from home all the time.

Seatbelts on, everybody...

I, however, have a real problem on my hands. This is serious.

Yesterday, UConn lost to Syracuse in the Big East Tournament. I may be to blame. I'm trying to figure out if it was me or someone else who caused them to lose. I hope I didn't do it. How could I cause them to lose, you ask? Well, if you're even asking, you're not much of a sports fan. See, my "rooting rays" don't seem to be properly calibrated to the new house yet. I watched the game from in the office. This room seems to have bad mojo. I won't watch another game in here...ever. And, my good luck chair and ottoman were destroyed in the flood. I watched the '99 finals from that ottoman, rocking back and forth like an autistic person. So, I don't know where to watch this year's tournament. They staged a nice comeback against LSU while I was kinda hanging off the blue couch back in January. But, I had to keep like my shoulders on the sofa and then hang my torso in mid-air. My legs were on the coffee table. Think I'm crazy? All I have to say is that it worked. It's quite uncomfortable, so I'm hoping it was someone else who caused them to win that game. I'll try out the early rounds next week from a new seat. But, if they need me, I'm back to hanging my ass out in mid air.

This and next week are my favoritest times of the year. Next Thursday and Friday are my 2 favorite days of the year. And, for the first time since high school, I'll be home for them. I may go buy a wireless router this weekend just to be able to watch on the better TV in the family room. It's all basketball, all the time for me. Today, I have the ACC and Big 10 on at Noon (I'll watch Duke from the office in hops that they lose). Patriot finals at 4:30 and more ACC and Big East tonight. You can only imagine how excited JewelrySlut is. Saturday is a kid's night out at the Y. We didn't sign Shmuppie up because UConn was supposed to be playing Villanova. SHIT! To make matters worse by a facto of a billion, the cheap airfare hit this week. I would have flown up to NJ on Saturday morning. My father and I would have gone into the city and scalped tickets. But, no...they were going to Ft Lauderdale this weekend. Naturally, they cancelled the trip because my mother's sick.

SHIT! Not only do I miss out on the Big East, I miss out on Linguine Estoril at the Estoril Sol. It's a restaurant on 8th Ave at 29th Street. It's where we eat when we go to the Garden. Ugh..

Buckle up again...

I made mention the other day of Shmuppie's upcoming adventures. Yup...she's going to Bermuda. Why? You ask. I'll tell you.

When we go to St. John in August, we need someone to watch the kid. She's not invited. The plan was for my mother to come down here (we'd pay the airfare and everything) and have her spend a week with the kid. As of January, she was all for it. They'd play in the pool and make little trips in the area. It sounded too good to be true because it was.

From there, it began evolving into: Can Shmuppie come up to NJ for the week? Fine...

Then it became: Can Shmuppie come up to NJ and then we'll take her on a cruise to the Caribbean?

Then I said: WHAT!

My mother apparently dreams of taking the kid on a cruise. But, we were powerless to do anything. I mean...who would watch the kid? So, last weekend, I started looking up cruises for the week we'd be away. I found a Sun-Fri that goes out of NJ and goes to Bermuda. It's the shortest thing available. At this point, we don't think we care. Shmuppie is either going to love it or be insufferable. We've tried to warn my mother, but she'll have nothing of it. I keep trying to explain that she's only going to be 4 and spending $1500 to take her on a 5 day cruise may not be a prudent expenditure of capital. Of course, my mother then launches into the "Well, your father and I want to take her away with us when we travel. She'll need a passport" She's only 4. As I said "you could put her in front of a mirror all week and she'd be just as amused. She's only 4"

So, we now have to figure out how to get the kid to NJ. My mother's plan was originally to have her fly down here, get the kid, fly back and they return her a week later. Well, that changed. Now, apparently, she'll drive to DC and stay with my brother. JewelrySlut will then drive the kid to DC, drop her off and come home. When we get home, she repeats the trip. The only problem is that JewelrySlut has sworn never to drive from here to DC ever again. So, is it worth $300 to buy 3 R/T tickets on Southwest and have them shuttle back and forth to Baltimore? It may be.

If I'd known this was going to be the case, I could have adjusted for it. We're flying from RDU-ATL-STT. We meet up with ChurchBomber and MerlotMan in ATL. They come down from EWR and we all go to STT on the same plane. I could just as easily have booked the 3 of us up to EWR earlier in the week, gotten on the same flight to ATL and just come back to NJ. We'd get the kid and fly home. I would have finagled my SkyMiles to make it work. But nooooo, we had to change our plans. I'm not happy.

Am I bitching when I shouldn't? Yup.

Is my mother watching our kid for a week while we go "get drunk and screw" on St John? Yup.

But, I could have planned for it and not needed to either send my wife on a 13 hour odyssey to DC or have to shell out more money for plane tickets. That's the kicker. The change in plans that was never really considered beyond my mother saying "I want to take My Peach on a cruise". So it shall be. We'll be in St John, and they'll be on a ship. We've warned my mother, the rest is up to her.

Time to go. I should pretend to do some work now. I actually have a little of it to do today. Otherwise, I have to get to the gym and drown myself in basketball.

PS: Join the freakin Pool. Click the picture at the top of the page just like it says and you go straight to the entry page. JOIN NOW!!!

x